Skip to content

Shooting Your Turkey, Tofu–and Brussel Sprouts: Five Tips on Food Photography

November 25, 2009

Don’t worry. I’ve never shot a turkey. Or a tofu for that mater. Don’t think that I could. Although I have used a gatt. It was once and in a shooting range of course. I had to try it once.

My favorite shooting involves a camera. I’ve been a photography freak since age 17. Portraits used to be my favorite thing to shoot, my lens has focused on food. My favorite shots for this blog have been of a pie party.

  • Be sure the photo is in focus. That’s a common problem I see with the food shots I see posted on blogs.
  • Perk up a bland dish with a garnish. A red tomato, a yellow squash, a orange bell pepper will do the trick. Or be creative. I was frustrated by how brown my photo of, well brownies, looked. So I decided to add the glint of a fork to spice things up.
  • Examine the light. Avoid using flash. Indirect light is better, for food and people. I shot the photo in the black outfit in my hotel room in Monte Carlo, Monaco, using the light from my window. The shot of me in blue was shot on the streets of Paris at dusk, also known as the golden or magic hour, because the light is so groovy.
  • Shoot a lot. What’s it gonna cost you? You may be just an within an inch of the perfect shot but you won’t know if you don’t shoot it.
  • Use the macro setting. It gets you in close and you benefit from shallow depth of field. That’s when your background is out of focus. Notice how the front of the piece of the pie is in sharper focus than the other end. It’s one of my favorite photo techniques. If you never heard of it before, you are not the only one. I remember meeting a photographer in Midland, Texas who was supposed to shoot me on camera for a television story. I asked him to shoot my standup using shallow depth of field. I ended up having to show him.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 5:02 pm

    A few people from Midland are not the brightest, if you get my drift. One in particular! I love your tips. I rarely shoot food, usually just when I’m in a foreign land. But I’ll give it a try!

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      November 25, 2009 10:32 pm

      I’d love to see your results. I just started shooting it the last few years and I really love it. And yes, my photog was not swiftest the cow in the herd. And I do believe I get your drift ; ).

  2. November 29, 2009 3:56 pm

    I learned to take pictures on my own and love taking portraits using that style,I didnt know there was a name to it 🙂 I love your photos and I love what you have here in your blog!

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      November 29, 2009 6:40 pm

      Thx much. I had a glimpse at your blog and look forward to going back for seconds.

Leave a Reply

