Skip to content

A Belated Happy Thanksgiving

November 29, 2009

A belated Happy Thanksgiving.

My computers were having issues so I’m late—but that does not mean my gratitude is not true.

Fortunately my kitchen was working and I threw down my best Thanksgiving dinner ever. All the recipes were new and I started on them Thursday at about 11 am. I always like to cook ahead. It was my Iron Chef challenge.

Do you know someone who is intolerant of dairy products?

This Thanksgiving was lactose-free and included my take on mac and cheese . I made it with with three varieties of goat cheese. The bechamel sauce was made with almond milk and cornstarch, no less. Still, it was le bomb and I did not feel I missed anything by not using the ingredients I normally use.

I also made cornbread stuffing, candied yams, haricot vert. The piece de resistance was the cranberry cheesecake, made with goat cheese with Oreo cookie crust. I’ve been making cheesecake since I was a teenager and this was as good as any I’ve made with regular cream cheese.

It was an action adventure. Call me the culinary Indiana Jones.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Happy Foot permalink
    November 29, 2009 3:45 am

    Well Indiana, first let me comment; Happy Belated Thanksgiving to you too! With that said let me ask, you did have Turkey with that lactose-free dinner? As for the other fixings, they sound increadble. Especialy the mac & cheese, my fave. It appears you had fun and a good meal to boot!

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      November 29, 2009 6:41 pm

      It was off the chain happy food.

Trackbacks

  1. Candied Yams Recipe « Camping Equipment

Leave a Reply

