Skip to content

Beverly Hills Farmers’ Market: Celebrities and Celery

December 23, 2009

Movie stars! Fresh fruits and veggies! And more!

You’ll find it all at the Beverly Hills Farmers’ Market. If you don’t count my purely accidental farmer’s market forays in Europe, where they are a way of life, the Beverly Hills Farmers’ Market was my first. I started going when it was located on Canon.

Stars!

Okay, you want to know about the movie stars. Between sampling the fruits and veggies, you are likely to find a star of a movie of the week here and a singer from a hair band from the 80s there. You’ll find celebrities mingling with the celery virtually every week.

It’s all low key. Potatoes, not paparazzi. You just may not recognize them in their Sunday morning sweats and sunglasses.Was that John Lithgow with the heirloom tomatoes? As a matter fact, yes it was.

Fresh Fruits & Veggies

But I don’t go to the market to ogle the celebrities. What do I look like? Perez Hilton?

I go in search of fresh produce bargains. And you’ll find plenty. I’ve taken home cabbage, spinach, broccoli, tomatoes and onions all for 50 to 90 percent less than if I’d bought the goods at the supermarket. Having said that, overall the prices are even better at the farmers’ market at Vermont and Wilshire.

And More!

The Beverly Hills Farmers’ Market was not only my first farmer’s market, it was also the place where I first tasted goat cheddar cheese.

I didn’t know such a thing existed. It’s also where I first spotted a lemon with dreadlocks.

The market also sells prepared food, flora and fauna.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

