Skip to content

A Way To Help: Craft Aid Haiti

January 15, 2010

Are you sure there’s nothing you can do to help someone worse off than you, think before you answer, are you sure?

With news of the earthquake in Haiti, you don’t have to think very hard about answering the musical question from the song Are You Sure written by the Nana Mouskouri and made popular by  gospel group the Staples Singers.

We’ve all been hit by the current economic, but not as hard as the estimated three million people in need of help in Haiti.

I wondered what I could do. First, using my journalism skills, I posted a guide yesterday to help you find reputable charities.

It’s been my joy to sew and knit recycled materials for years. So a light bulb, florescent of course, went off.  Why not use your joy to, in some little way, help Haiti? So I’m crafting to help Haiti. I call it Craft Aid.

It’s charity without the middle man or woman. And here’s how it works.

  1. I’m donating things that I make  including a doll, a purse, and hat.
  2. See what you like here. Make a note of the item number.
  3. Have a look at the charity guide I put together, or find your own place to give.
  4. e-mail me the amount you would like to donate for the item.
  5. I will hold out for the highest bidder until January 20,2010
  6. I’ll notify you if you are.
  7. Send your donation directly to the charity.
  8. Present to me some sort  proof that you’ve donated. Any proof. I will trust you.
  9. That item becomes yours. I’ll mail it to you at no extra charge.
  10. We both feel good.

Tell your friends.  If you know other crafters who would like to get involved have them holla. Ditto if you have any suggestions.

Item #1010

Alice Princess Bag Bag



The Alice Princess Bag Bag, named in honor of my mother, is The Bag Bag  is 12 inches deep and 12 inches. The bag is made of recycled grocery bags. Use it to tote your own groceries.  This oversize slouchy bag is also festive enough to wear when you go out. I do.

Item value $200

Item #2020

You’re An Angel

There’s no doubt that  a guardian angel saved me in a car accident last year. Get your own handmade guardian angel. The stitching details on the expressive face are all done by hand. A heart is the trademark of this doll made from recycled t-shirts.  I made one for my mother this Christmas. The doll is a foot long and comes with a loop for hanging.

Item value 1 $150

Item #3030

You Better Work Doll | Miranda Missoni

This doll is the fashionable sister to You’re An Angel, only instead of wings she comes complete with clothes that pay homage to a popular Italian designer.

Note:  I made myself a dress with this fabric and the last time I wore it I was asked by sales associates at Neiman Marcus if it was the real thing. Of course I confessed.

All of my dolls are inspired by a Masai Mama and baby doll set I bought in Kenya.

If you need someone to watch Project Runway with, she’s the  perfect size at 12 inches.

Item value $150

Item #4040

Jasmine or Basmati | Put a Lid on It

No, he didn’t say nice hat, he said “rice hat. ” That’s because this vision of  boho funkiness is made of the material that was used to ship that bowl of rice you ate today.  This topper is fully lined. The cherry pin is not included.

Item value $75

Item 3030

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 5:00 pm

    Hello ,
    My name is Marcia,I do crafts myself,and had in mind the same as you are doing.
    The Ruby May Staine Foundation sent Backpacks
    with school supplies,vitamins for children,and adults,in summer of 2009,with a group of ladies who work as missionaries in
    Haiti.
    We will want to do our part as soon as time permits.
    Good Luck
    Marcia

  2. lenanozizwe permalink*
    January 15, 2010 5:41 pm

    Greetings Marcia,

    If you have something you want me to post, I would be happy to do so.

    Love your site.

    Shine on

Leave a Reply

