Skip to content

My First Bento Breakfast

January 19, 2010

This is my first bento breakfast.

The Food

  • cantaloupe
  • banana
  • oatmeal sprinkled with cinnamon

The Equipment

I used a star cookie cutter, get it I’m the author of Starring in Your Own Life, for the cantaloupe.

I used a flower shape for the banana.

The star cutter was already in my inventory because I love to bake. The flower cookie cutter was a find, for under two bucks, at a Japanese market in San Diego. Details to follow about that shopping trip. You can get the cutters at any place that sells baked goods.

The bento is actually a storage box from Crate and Barrel. Eventually I want a two or three-tiered bento.

How’d I Do?

I could have had more colors. You are supposed to have five for every meal. But overall I’m happy.

What’s on your plate? Is it bringing you inner bling?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark from Boston permalink
    January 20, 2010 2:16 am

    Great job on the MLK breakfast tribute Nozizwe!

    I saw all of the dolls as well… Very impressive. You are quite the artist….A woman of many talents.

    Take care, talk soon,
    Mark.

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      January 20, 2010 4:11 pm

      Thx. Coming from someone as artistic and talented as you are it’s quite the compliment.

Leave a Reply

