Skip to content

Bento for Lunch | Stars Get in My Rice

January 20, 2010

Yesterday I went all bento as I continue my quest for a 25 inch waist.

Lunch was based on ready-made curry from a Japanese market.

I was raised on curry, African style. I love it. I love Indian curry and I love Japanese curry.

This curry came in a pouch with instructions in Japanese. Translation: Put the bag in boiling water for five minutes.

It was a coupla bucks and it was delicious. It’s even better than curry I used to drool over at a  Japanese restaurant in Beverly Hills.

The label said it contained potatoes and  carrots but I decided to add my own carrots. Good move, because the veggies were miniscule.  You can see their tiny heads peeking out of the sauce.

No worries. It was all about the sauce. However next time I will add even more carrots.

I would love to master my own curry. Especially since the pre-fab curry is fattier than it needs to be. Having said that, my bento calories add up to about 400 calories of deliciousness.

The Food

  • Pre-packaged curry
  • Carrots
  • Thai rice

The Equipment

  • My trusty steamer. I’ve been using steamers to prep my food for years and it’s perfect for rice making for bento. I also steamed the carrots.
  • I used a Japanese mold for the rice. The label says it’s a cherry blossom. I say it’s a star. I was worried that the mold would not work because I was not working with sticky rice.  Thanks to tips from lunchinabox, my first time using a rice mold turned out just fine.
  • The molds are also great for portion control. The two stars equal about a half cup. The package included a heart mold as well which will come in handy for the Valentine’s season.

What’s on your plate? Is it bringing you inner bling?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Anabel vidrio permalink
    January 21, 2010 3:32 pm

    I tried making curry from scratch, lol. Huge mistake. I need a class.
    Geoff next door buys the red curry from trader joes and I like that one alot, if u know any other recipes we are all interested

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      January 22, 2010 3:41 pm

      I’m working on it because while the pre-fab curry is absolutely delicious, it tends to be high in saturated fat and sodium.
      I was so excited about all the products in the Japanese market, I didn’t examine the nutrition guide.
      I got two brands. The other curry I discovered, has palm oil. Now I believe most everything is cool in moderation, I also believe there has to be a better way.
      I’ll be happy to share my curry hack.

  2. Donna L. Harris permalink
    January 21, 2010 7:29 pm

    I love currie, but I remain confused about the hotness issue. When I think of curry, I think of a particular flavor that isn’t hot, but whenever going to Thai restaurants and they ask you how hot you want it, I don’t get how that relates to that taste I’m looking for. Also I don’t get the difference between colored curries, yellow, green, etc. Can you help?

    Your dishes look yummy!

    Thanks,
    Donna

  3. lenanozizwe permalink*
    January 22, 2010 3:36 pm

    Great questions. I’ve never thought about it before because I love my curry hot, hot, hot!

    Curry is actually a combo of spices, often including turmeric,ginger, cumin and pepper.

    Every color of curry can be made hot. It just depends on the proportion of “hot” spices the chef mixes in.

    Generally speaking, the color red comes from red chilies, your curry is yellow because of the addition of turmeric.
    If it’s green, it’s likely because of green chilies and even perhaps coriander or mint.

    For a wonderful chart about the hotness of Indian curry, which I do love.http://www.orpheusweb.co.uk/protovale/john/curry.html

  4. Donna L. Harris permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:53 pm

    Thanks for that really cool chart of curries! I’m just wondering which one is the mild, yellow-ish to Grey Poupon-ish-colored one that I equate with “standard” curry. Of course, I now realize there is probably no such thing as standard curry in anyone’s mind but mine.

    Also, is it true that curry is really a British invention during the time the Raj ruled India to mask the taste of putrefied meat?

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      January 23, 2010 2:47 pm

      Both of your questions really tie together. The English have gone a long way in making the Grey Poupon-ish colored curry popular to the world outside of India, but the tasty gravy was around in India long before the Brits showed up.

      BTW, the mustard color comes from turmeric. It’s a spice that has been shown to have a number of health benefits including preventing Alzheimer’s and cancer. Studies also indicate it helps with weight loss.

  5. Doris permalink
    January 30, 2010 2:27 pm

    A twenty five inch waist?! Yours will be divisible into my own. How strange that two such motivated individuals can be at opposite ends of the self-discipline continuum. The genetic odds are stacked against me though; my mother was built like a drayhorse and my father was the definition of thickset.

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      January 30, 2010 3:16 pm

      The whole concept of Starring in Your Own Life is to shine in your own way. 25 inch waist may not be for you, think about what is a reasonable goal.
      Research has found that smaller waist measurements are an indicator of better health. So I don’t even fuss about the measurement of my rear.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Bento for Lunch | Stars Get in My Rice « Lenanozizwe's Starring in Your Own Life Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

