Skip to content

Starring in Your Own Life Recipe | Two Ingredient Low-Fat Banana Muffins

January 22, 2010

There were the days I spent too many bucks going to  Starbucks so I could order low-fat muffins to go along with my chocolat chaud.

Now I make the muffins myself. I’ve done the from scratch thing and highly recommend it because you control what goes in your mouth.  Sorry purists, I don’t always have the time or inclination. That’s why I loved Hungry Girl’s recipe for low-fat chocolate muffins.

It inspired the recipe below. I always look for ways to use bananas to reduce the amount of fat I use in baking, so I thought, why not do the same for the concept of  two-ingredient muffins? Plus, for my money, bananas are more plentiful and inexpensive than pumpkin puree.

They are also perfect for bento. See my breakfast bento below.

Starring in Your Own Life Two Ingredient Low-Fat Banana Muffins

Ingredients:

Spice Cake Mix

3 medium bananas

Optional | Select No More Than Two

handful of shredded carrots

handful of raisins

handful of oatmeal

handful of almonds

How to Make It

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

  1. Use a fork or potato masher to mash up your bananas. For an even smoother mix, whip out your food processor. I like to do a mix of smooth and a rougher texture.
  2. Dump the cake mix into banana mash up. If you have a some extra bits of banana bits, that’s cool.  Take care not to over mix. This mixture will not be as “liquidy” as cakes you normally make.
  3. Pour the mix into a muffin pan that  you have already prepped with cooking spray.
  4. Bake for 30 minutes or until they are done. There are a couple of ways I test for that. Take care because all of them involve a very hot oven.  Use either  toothpick or knife  to  stick in the middle of the muffin. If it comes out clean, you are all clear. You can also jiggle the pan. If the batter still jiggles, keep it in the oven. This also serves as a reminder that you need to workout.

copyright nozizwe 2010

  • If you like your sweets sweet, wait for your bananas to ripen.The riper the banana, the sweeter the muffin.
  • If you goop on the butter you’ve defeated your purpose. However I did enjoy a muffin with low fat cream cheese.
  • Instead of using cooking spray you can also use cupcake liners.
  • These muffins  freeze really well.  Thaw them for lunchtime. I did for the bento below.
  • Stock up on the cake mixes when you see sales. I bought a bunch for 99 cents.

What’s on your plate? Is it bringing you inner bling?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 9:30 pm

    These look delicious-I’m going to try them out.
    I love your humorous asides included in your recipes -can’t wait for the next recipe!

  2. Anabel vidrio permalink
    January 30, 2010 6:33 am

    Perfect!!! Will try to make them this week

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      January 30, 2010 3:22 pm

      Tell me how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

