Skip to content

Happy Meal | Los Angeles | Griddle Cafe

February 1, 2010

If you want to go to the Griddle Cafe, you don’t need your iPhone app.

You don’t need your GPS.

All you need to do is follow the hungry line gathered nearby in front of the Directors Guild of America.

My favorite fellow foodie and I did. After a 40-minute wait we sat down at the counter to eat at one of Lala’s most famous breakfast joints.

On The Menu:

The Griddle Cafe serves  pancakes bigger than Lady Gaga’s shoulder pads.

Where else would you find flapjacks complete with  everything from Oreo cookies to pumpkin pie filling?

The normal order will get you  three 12 inch pancakes that are an inch thick. My suggestion, get a single pancake. We did that with the Banana Nana, which we split.

We both ordered omelets. I went for the cheesy My Soul. My FFF went for the Baked Potato, yes, eggs stuffed with hash browns.

The most popular dish on the counter was the Red Velvet pancake. I heard raves, including from a North Carolina native who grew up on Red Velvet cake.

I saw a lot of food go to waste, but not that particular pancake.

When it comes to what was on my plate, it was all good, fresh and tasty. It just was not spectacular.

It’s like when you see a movie or play with a famous star. The actor makes all the right moves and says all the right things–but there’s no magic.

There is magic at Hash a Go Go in San Diego. The way things stack up for me, ounce for ounce, the San Diego breakfast place is better.

Amuse Bouche:

There were two teams that were well represented at the cafe. The NBA and the AMW.

There were at least three ballers in the house. I’m not into sports so I don’t know their names, but I know their faces.

As for the AMWs, the actors, models, whatevers, they were also in full effect. That’s logical considering the proximity of the DGA, Beverly Hills and the Hollywood Hills.

This spot is also popular with celebrities, including Angelina Jolie, Jessica Alba, Tommy Lee and Megan Fox.

My FFF said the last time he was here he sat across from Jeff Goldblum. But honestly, I’m more into grazing than star gazing.

Ambiance:

The exposed brick is charming. Ditto, the counters filled with every condiment you could think of using.

The crammed quarters, not so much. It’s noisy and that could be the reason the waiter served me an avocado, even though I said I did not want one included with my order. He probably did not hear me. They’ve been known to make me hurl.

In spite of that, overall service from our waiter was good, although he had a compatriot who was snarling.

Perhaps because the conditions are so tight, he had trouble delivering his orders.

The cozy interior also meant my jacket was knocked off the back of my chair several times. In spite of it all, the diners were in good spirits, even after waiting 40 minutes.

The vibe is hip and lucky for me ,because I’ve never been the hippest person in the room, it’s also very friendly. My counter mates shared smiles and restaurant recommendations.

It was a solid meal with pretty good service. I give it four tines out of five.

One Comment leave one →
  1. donnalharris permalink
    February 9, 2010 9:20 pm

    Looks like this would be my calorie consumption for about a month!

Leave a Reply

