Skip to content

Tasty Tofu Month Begins With My Marvelous Meatballs

May 2, 2010

I’m dubbing this month, Tasty Tofu Month.

I can’t find a class, so I’ll have to teach myself what to do with this healthy meat alternative.

Each week I’m going to make something with tofu, starting with My Marvelous Meatballs. This was my first go. It was not perfect, but it was perfectly delicious.

How did I make them?

  • Drain a package of firm tofu for about two hours
  • Mash up the tofu
  • Mix  in a cup of bread crumbs, I used whole wheat
  • Squeeze in 1 TBS of BBQ sauce and another TBS of catsup
  • Add one Tsp of salt and one Tsp of pepper to taste
  • Mix 1/4 cup of egg substitute
  • Shape into meatballs.  This was a bit of an experiment, so  when my mixture did not hold together, I added dry oatmeal until it did.
  • Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.
  • This mixture freezes really well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

