Skip to content

Tasty Tofu Month: Cheesecake

May 17, 2010

I’ve been making cheesecake since I was a starry-eyed tweenager.  It’s magic the way the  cream cheese, sugar and eggs can transform into decadent deliciousness.

For this recipe, I substituted kefir cheese for the cream cheese. It’s a type of yogurt that I found at a Lebanese grocery store, however,feel free to use cream cheese.

Ingredients:

1 container of silken tofu

16 oz of kefir cheese or cream cheese

2 eggs

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla

a pinch of salt

Putting it all together:

  1. Drain the silken tofu for about an hour
  2. Mix the drained tofu and the kefir cheese well. If you have a food processor, use it. For my first time round I just used a whisk. Smoother is better.
  3. Combine the eggs, sugar and salt
  4. Pour into a pie pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until the middle of the pie is no longer jiggly.
  5. I garnished my pie with strawberries. Why can’t you?
Leave a Reply

