Skip to content

No Chive, I Grew It Myself

May 21, 2010

When my Mom needed her lawn mowed a few years ago, I went into action wearing a LaCroix blouse and Manolo mules, no chive.  In my defense, they had kitten heels. So I guess you could say I’m a city girl.

So no one is more surprised than I am that I’m turning into an urban farmer. But it’s true.

A Tomato Seed

My foray into farming started at dinner. The first seeds for my edible garden started after I harvested seeds from a tomato that was on the menu.

Now I’ve seen gardening experts who make the process  of harvesting seeds sound complicated. All I did was scrape out the seeds with a spoon. Then I dried them on a paper towel,  stuck them in a 1/4  inch hole and then, quite frankly, I forgot about them.

When we reunited the plant was six inches tall.

I’m still waiting for the fruits of my little bit of labor. The yellow flower in the photo marks the spot where the tomato will arrive. I may have to fight with some pests who have made their mark on my first tomato plant. All I can say to them is, don’t test me. Experts say to simply pick them off the leaves.

Chive Talkin’

My success emboldened me to grow another plant. This time I got a package of chive seeds from a nursery. Again, I didn’t pay too much attention, other than watering them a couple of times a week.

It seems like overnight, this plant flourished too, without any sort of codling.

I made sure to place the chives next to the tomatoes because organic farmers say they will keep the bugs away.

So all this is leading up to today. I ate my first meal today that featured something I grew from seed.

Yes,  this city girl is excited!

I love to make things– dresses, dolls, trouble. But I’ve never been as excited as being reminded of  the miracle of creation.

Now I’m watching the progress of a kabocha plant.  The seeds were harvested from a meal with my Ma.

This is fun and it’s been easy. Ironically, I’ve had more success with the seeds than with buying starter plants. Huh?

Designer Seeds

My next move will be to go to visit my beloved farmers markets, with an eye on buying for eating and seeding.

The tomato plant that started it all needs company. An heirloom tomato sounds about right.

I love to recycle when I make purses and dresses. Why not seeds?

It turns out, according to the LA Times, I’m in fashion too with this urban farming thing.

So, forget the designer shoes. Now I’m all about designer fruits and vegetables.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cara permalink
    May 28, 2010 12:36 am

    Let us know how the heirlooms turn out. I planted a couple, too, but got them at a nursery.

    Are you in LA?

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      May 28, 2010 1:52 am

      Will do. How are yours doing?

      • lenanozizwe permalink*
        May 28, 2010 1:53 am

        Gracias.

  2. Cara permalink
    May 28, 2010 2:38 am

    Mine are growing. No blooms yet, though. I’ve also planted (with the help of my brother) green beans, red peppers, zuchinni, lettuce. We shall see. Those were planted in the soil, which around here is more like red clay.

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      May 28, 2010 2:55 pm

      I have a wee tomato but only one so far. When it ripens, I’ll eat it and get the seeds to grow another. Be sure to watch for pests. One, says my ma, hides and blends in with the leaves. I have not spotted the critters but I’ve seen their handiwork. I want to grow peppers too.

  3. May 28, 2010 5:32 pm

    Aaahhh, welcome to the world of today’s urban farmer. How easily we are enticed, then emboldened by the slightest sign of success. Amazing how easy and rewarding this simple process can be. Oh, there will be frustrations too, but in the end it is so worth the effort.

    I’ve been urban farming in containers for the past year and loving it. Check my blog when you have a few minutes, for some ideas and chuckles. Most of all, keep it fun.

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      May 28, 2010 8:57 pm

      You got it right. I have been emboldened by my success. It’s just plain fun. I’ve peeped your blog. You are very inventive. I’m looking at containers in a whole new way. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

