Skip to content

From The Garden to the Table | My Recipe for Low Fat Oatmeal Raisin Muffkies

May 26, 2010

During all the years I grew red geraniums, there was not one time that I ever brought any of the flowers into my crib.

Now I find myself bringing in the green almost every day, now that I’ve started a container garden.

Over the weekend I bought a mint plant for a couple of bucks at a farmers market.

I was attracted to the plant for a couple of reasons.

One, everything I’ve read indicates it’s easy to grow. Perhaps too easy. Mint can run amuck  if you let it.

Reason two is that it’s a great companion to tomatoes.  Mint is supposed to help keep the pests away from tomatoes, my star crop.

So the next thing I had to figure out was what to do with the mint coming into my life.

First up, I decided to crush a couple of mint leaves and mush them into the sugar I was using to make some, what I’m calling, muffkies. They are half muffin and half cookie. I created them so I could have an easy meal for breakfast.

Distribute the batter evenly into a muffin tin with a dozen cups.
Pre heat  oven to 350 degrees.

Spray your 12-cup muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup oatmeal

2/3 cup whole-wheat flour

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup brown sugar

4 mint leaves

4 Tbsp. butter substitute

4 Tbsp. banana

1/4 cup egg substitute you can also use two egg whites

1/4 tsp. real vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg
pinch of salt

Method

  1. Smush brown sugar and mint leaves together with the back of a spoon or a mortar and pestle.
  2. Incorporate butter, egg substitute, and vanilla extract.
  3. Add flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.
  4. Once that mixture is smooth, add the oats and raisins.

Evenly distribute the dough.

Carefully place the pan into the oven. In about a dozen minutes you will have muffkies.

I like my muffkies crisp. So after they are officially done baking, I turn off the oven and leave the muffkies in for another 10 minutes.

Calorie count:

128 calories per muffkie

Just for fun,  add:

A handful of dark chocolate

A handful of coconut

Once that mixture is smooth, add the oats and raisins.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

