Skip to content

Oh, This Really Bugs Me

May 30, 2010

Right Bret, every rose has its thorn. Does that mean that every tomato plant has to have a pest?

It’s just not fair. Mystery bugs have had the first bite of my nascent tomato plant even before I’ve had the pleasure of sampling my treat.

Of course my approach to this battle has been au naturel. I want to go the organic route.

When I told my expert gardener Ma about my plant problems,  she said to be on the look out for caterpillars and to remove them.

“They like to hide in the leaves,” she said.

Ma also mentioned that due to their coloring, they blend in with the foliage.

They foiled me. I couldn’t find any.

Another tip I’ve read is to position onions or cilantro plants nearby, because the pests will stay away because of the smell.

Check. No difference. As a matter of fact I think they’re even happier now. They can make salsa.

So now, I’m going to have to play rough. No insecticide for me, but I have heard you can spray soapy water mixed with garlic.

I consulted with, alright, I simply tweeted Emerald Isler Patrick Fitzgerald, aka @PatFitzGerald, to get his take.

The  specialty of his nursery in Ireland is growing young plants and sharing them with the world.

He tweeted “@lenanozizwe depends on bugs. Soapyh2o oftn useful 4 Aphids put it on at evening spray foliage w/ water not 2 forcefully then soapy water…@lenanozizwe I have heard garlic mix works but I never used it.”

It’s coming to me. The Starring in Your Own Life Message is:

  • Look carefully for villains and pluck them off you. They may be disguising themselves as something good.
  • Do what you can to repel those villains.
  • For your last option, spray your villains with something stinky and run!

So bugs, I’m coming for you. I’m not giving up.

Okay, you’ll know that I’ve given up if I leave out some tortillas for you to go with the salsa.

Follow me on Twitter @lenanozizwe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 12:01 am

    Excellent post Lena, I love the metaphor references but just remember that caterpillar will will have a metamorphosis of it’s own. Some day that villan could surprise you with it’s beauty by changing utterly.

    Pat

  2. lenanozizwe permalink*
    June 2, 2010 2:20 am

    I never thought of it that way. But they still don’t deserve to eat my tomato plant. At least let me have the first bite.

  3. June 7, 2010 7:41 pm

    Great post, Lena. I didn’t think to mention manually removing the pests as a first line of defense. You and one other blogger have mentioned it, which seems so obvious now! Best of luck with your tomatoes!

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      June 7, 2010 9:21 pm

      My Ma always has the best advice. I’m looking forward to my tomatoes—and to following your blog, herbanlifestyle.wordpress.com. I don’t ta

      Now the search is on for neem!

Leave a Reply

