Skip to content

Still Crazy for Quinoa Apricot Cheescake Tart Bar

July 28, 2010

Last month I was supposed to be crazy for quinoa, but duty called and called and texted too. So I did not cook or bake as much as I would have liked to with the so called miracle mother grain. Mind you technically it’s not a grain. Whatever. I’ve been reading so much  about it, even in The Atlantic that I decided to do some research to see how much bling it can bring to my plate.

I came up with this experimental tart using quinoa flour. I ground it up myself. It was a snap to make with my mini blender.Although next time a may break out the food processor.

Happy days in Paris and a class a few years ago in tart making prompted the tart part of this concoction. My brother’s love for my lemon bars prompted the bar part of this recipe.  Apricots priced at 79 cents a pound is, well you get it. Which brings us to the star of the show, the quinoa and oatmeal crust. I mixed in some sugar and a healthy butter substitute that I use in most of my baking.

When I finalize the recipe, I’ll share it.

For now all I can say is that it was delicious.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

