Skip to content

Soy Joy Chocolat Chaud and Four Other New Things I Learned This Past Week

August 1, 2010
  1. Made pasta from scratch. Not as mysterious as I imagined
  2. Made pasta from quinoa. See above.
  3. Made vegetable tart. For years I’ve concentrated on the fruit variety.
  4. Ate tofu pasta.
  5. Made soy chocolat chaud. I don’t do coffee and just a little tea. I’ve chased hot chocolate everywhere from Starbucks to Paris, not to be confused with the dozens of Starbucks in Paris. I didn’t need to leave my kitchen. The soy was “creamy” and because, for the first time, I added my own unsweetened cocoa powder and sugar, it was not too sweet. Just now I’ve noticed that the number one ingredient on the packaged hot chocolate mixes is sugar. The choice to go soy was purely economic. It was on sale at the grocery store for a buck.

How did I do it?

Soy Joy Chocolate Chaud

Ingredients:

2 cups soy milk

1 T unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 T sugar or more to taste

a dash of cinnamon

One serving

  • Warm 8 oz of soy milk in a pan over low heat
  • Add cocoa. You’ll have a smoother blend if you spoon out a bit of the soy milk and mix the cocoa powder with just a bit of the soy milk before blending it all together.
  • Sprinkle in the dash of cinnamon.
  • When you start seeing a few bubbles, indicating that your chocolate chaud is boiling, turn off the heat.
  • Add a pastry. My favorite is a my Two Ingredient Muffins. I added some fresh plums and oatmeal and quinoa flour streusel. It was leftover from my Still Crazy For Quinoa Apricot Cheesecake Tart.

Now you’ve saved yourself a trip to Starbucks. This version costs about .50, not including the gas you saved.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 6:24 am

    I’ve been looking for a non-dairy hot cocoa forever! Yay!

    Two ingredient muffin? You have me interested. I can’t find the recipe on your blog. You keeping secrets from us? 😉

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      August 2, 2010 3:39 pm

      Tell me what you think of the soy hot chocolate. I really do love it. And yes, I am keeping secrets, being mysterious is a good thing even with your emoticon ; D, but here’s a link to the two ingredient muffin–http://wp.me/pBcWV-mJ although one ingredient is mix and I’m not sure if you’ve nixed such things.

  2. August 2, 2010 6:26 am

    Oh, by the way, I went ahead and added you to my blogroll. =) I look forward to reading your future posts!

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      August 2, 2010 3:33 pm

      Thx. I really enjoy your writing style and and the food of course. I am reorganizing my blog and when I’m done I’ll have a blogroll too. Are you on twitter? I will follow!

      • August 3, 2010 3:55 am

        Thank you for the compliment! I don’t have a twitter, but I’m considering starting an account. =)

        Thanks for the muffin recipe! I’m gluten free, but I find GF cake mixes all the time at the store. I will give it a try next time I pick up a mix. =)

Trackbacks

  1. Promotional Travel Mugs » What's the punchline?
  2. Eating Delicious Chocolate Fondue | Electric Fondue
  3. RAw Apple Berry PiE | Healthy Vegan Foods
  4. Sleepy Afternoon « The Art of Kaztronomy

Leave a Reply

