Skip to content

And The Answer to Mystery Food of The Week Is…

August 6, 2010

…enoki mushrooms.

And just like Robert Pattinson, they love the dark.

This is actually the business end of the mushrooms. The deal is you are supposed to cut the ends off before eating.

Now I’ll have to confess that I had no idea that this little mushroom packs a big punch when it comes to nutrition.

This petit champignon  is a good source for everything from fiber to potassium.

I stuck them in my shopping cart because they were selling in Little Tokyo for three packages for a buck. I figured that I could risk hating them for that price, although I bought only one package.

I used them in a stir fry that mixed in even more nutritional heavyweights, including spinach and bell peppers. See a couple of them resting on my tofu?

The little buggers were tasty.

Next time I’ll splurge on all three packages.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 6:43 pm

    Hah! I’ve never heard a mushroom be compared to a vampire before, but I love it! 😀

    Those are some definitely different mushrooms. Did they taste like regular mushrooms, or were they different?

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      August 8, 2010 5:43 pm

      Thx ; ).

      As for the taste, they were surprisingly “meaty.” They had so chew to them.
      For 33 cents I was willing to risk them being not so much. I was surprised by their nutritional value. I would buy them again, fa sure.

Leave a Reply

