Skip to content

Curry From Scratch and Four Other New Things I Learned This Past Week

August 8, 2010

This week I learned:

  1. I can make Japanese curry from scratch. What’s the big deal? I’m still tweaking the recipe, especially the ratio of spices, but this is destined to be a favorite because it’s a tasty way for me to eat my vegetables.  I had to add all the big chunks of carrots.version is not so ‘liquidy”  so it will be easier to pack in my bento.
  2. The packaged curries are very popular, even in Japan I hear. I bought this one in Little Tokyo. They are delicious. But when I took a long look at the nutritional info, I had to learn to make it myself.
  3. Store bought baked tofu tastes really good.
  4. Baking your raw tofu really enhances the taste.
  5. Even if all the noodles on this plate are only 20 calories, I’m not sure that I bite. A more detailed review to come.
  6. What an edible flower tastes like. This particular orchid was served up by the chef from Asia de Cuba at the Mondrian Hotel. My thoughts about the flower–it was meant to be a flower. It tasted like paper to me although I just took a tiny bite. I left it on my plate and the person sitting next to me swallowed it whole. Guess my palate is not so adventurous.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 9:00 pm

    Curry is one of my favorite foods. I can’t make my own — it looks so daunting! So, I always just satisfy my cravings by going out for it. =)

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      August 9, 2010 3:05 pm

      If you’ve ever made a bechamel sauce, you can rock this too. Believe me. I have not tried any alternative flours in making white sauce, not yet anyway. But I have used almond milk to make it.

Leave a Reply

