Skip to content

Happiness is a Warm Experience

August 8, 2010

The most popular article in the business section of the NYT at this very moment is about research that showing  money does not buy you happiness, positive experiences do.

I could have told you that after eavesdropping on Mel Gibson’s phone calls. CBS News says he’s reportedly worth a billion bucks. He sure doesn’t sound happy.

The story on happiness says the latest research shows,  “… spending money for an experience — concert tickets, French lessons, sushi-rolling classes, a hotel room in Monaco — produces longer-lasting satisfaction than spending money on plain old stuff.”

Funny, when I graduated from college I treated myself to a ten days in Monaco. I got a really great all inclusive deal that included flight and a stay at the Hermitage Hotel.  In fact the hotel is where I shot the self-portrait above. What a paid for the trip then is the equivalent to one night’s stay these days.

Must see places for me were the Palais du Prince, the Musee Oceanographique and even Radio & TV Monte Carlo.
Even more fun was exploring the Côte d’Azur, from Eze to San Tropez, Cannes to Ventimiglia.

The experience was intensified because it was in sharp contrast to the life I left behind. I never partied in college. But I would have happily exchanges an invite to three kegger for the experience of eating Salade Nicoise for the first time in, well, Nice. It was nice.
Nice specially because while in college, I worked every morning, from 4 am to 9 am at a San Diego radio station before going to 20 units worth of classes. I’ve been back since but that  vacance in the South of France  is a memory that gets a smile out of me to this day. It has to be the most fun ten consecutive days of my life. I have a postcard I sent home on my fridge to this day.

My memories, priceless.

So the Starring in Your Own Life Lesson is if you have the choice of buying the Louis Vuitton bag or having French Fries with the people you love, get the pomme frites.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

