Skip to content

Eat, Pray, Don’t Nut Up Steven Slater

August 12, 2010

“It was great. I always wanted to do it”
Steven Slater

I get why Jet Blue’s Steven Slater has become a working man’s hero.

I’ve had some bosses that I wish I had never met and sadly they are not the only obnoxious people I’ve dealt with on the job. There’s nothing unique about my experience.

Trust me, there have been many times I’ve wanted to nut up. But I didn’t.  Instead, in the privacy of my home  I screamed. I cried.  I worked out. I sewed a dress. I baked a tart.

I didn’t use the intercom for an expletive-filled rant. Did all of the passengers on board do wrong? Did children really need to hear the profanity?
I did not grab some beers and jump on an emergency chute.Maybe I should have?

Because Steven did all those things, Internet publisher and TV commentator Dan Abrams wants to talk with him about giving him a reality show.

His Facebook fan page has almost 180,000 followers.

Taiwanese animators have honored him with a recreation of their version of the events.

No doubt, I have seen passengers acting up on flights. I’m the first one to speak up for flight attendants, bank tellers or food servers when I see them being abused.

At the same time I once had a flight attendant on Southwest repeatedly bump my African head wrap, therefore my head. The third time he did it I politely asked him to stop. He huffed and puffed. If I had nutted up the feds would have been waiting for me upon arrival not a reality show deal.

And if he had a problem with a particular passenger, why did he have to let all the passengers in on the cussing and the tirade.  I also have to imagine those passengers were inconvenienced that day. What did they do?

I don’t think that Slater has been thinking about that, not when he’s basking in the spotlight.

He told the New York Daily News, “One door closes, another one opens.”

Who would have ever thought that door would be the emergency door of a passenger jetliner?

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/ny_local/2010/08/11/2010-08-11_steven_slater_ponders_next_move_as_jetblue_flight_attendant_basks_in_glow_of_new.html#ixzz0wOrzuIhc
5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 7:21 pm

    I sorta was rooting for him at first, but he’s kind of developed a cocky attitude since it happened that has really turned me off. Flight attendants deal with a lot of rubbish, true, but for him to bring the entire flight in on it then make such a dramatic exit was reckless and could have been dangerous.

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      August 15, 2010 3:00 pm

      He went off on the whole plane. If he had a beef with one passenger and acted out on that one passenger I could be more understanding. I’m sure there were kids on the plane. Did they need to hear @#!^?

  2. August 16, 2010 1:40 pm

    Good points well made in this Lena. Typical and ridiculous glorification of unjustified behaviour under any circumstances, shameful not rewardable. Media hypocrisy and bad leadership. We reap what we sow!

    Pat

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      August 16, 2010 2:33 pm

      Thanks for your comment, Pat. One problem is that the media respond to what the public responds to–so if they get more hits or viewers, they are all up in it. What surprised me is the international interest in the story. I say the real heroes are people who put their big girl and boy pants on everyday and do their jobs with grace.

  3. August 16, 2010 10:05 pm

    I agree Lena and take your point about public demand for rubbish. Too many famous for becoming famous too few appriciated for doing their jobs well and not throwing their rattles out of their play pens. Anyway I am sure these things will always happen.
    Pat

Leave a Reply

