Skip to content

Making a Tomate Tartin and Four Other New Things I Tried This Past Week

August 16, 2010

1. I tried fava beans. The first time I ever heard about them was through Silence of The Lambs. I bought a can at a restaurant supply store for about 60 cents. They are grande–beans on steroids. Tasty. I would eat them again, deffo.

2. I made a savory riff on tarte tartin. Call it tomate tartin. I used tomatoes and aubergine. I couldn’t figure out if I wanted an eggy or more doughy topping so, in keeping with the flava of tarte tartin, I went doughy. In retrospect I would go more eggy. Next time. I also overbaked this dish.

3. I used garbanzo beans as a pasta replacement. Fresh tomatoes from my garden and chives along with tofu sausage rounded out my ad lib plate. I’ve been eating a lot more garbanzo beans after finding a place where I can get the dried version. I’ve always seen them as a glamorus version of beans.

4. I ate grapes in my salad during my lunch out last week. That’s not something I would normally do because I don’t like to mix sweet and savory.

5. Experimented with making bean flour. It’s all about bringing more nutrients to every bite and ultimately more bling.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 7:32 pm

    Now to enjoy those fava beans with a liver and a nice chianti…;)

    The tartin looks delicious! And I never thought to use garbanzo beans as my “pasta” before. I had the biggest pasta craving last night, and have TONS of chickpeas sitting around. I think I’m going to whip up a marinara and toss it with some garbanzos tonight. Thanks for the inspiration. 😀

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      August 16, 2010 7:36 pm

      Welcome ; D.
      I wanna see what you come up with. I love me some chickpeas/garbanzo beans. They are so glam compared to regular beans.

Leave a Reply

