Skip to content

Nothing Better Than a Bulgur Burger

November 14, 2010

How do you make burgers that  cost mere pennies a patty–that are low in fat? Make them with bulgur of course.

Just for fun I picked up a bag of bulgur a few weeks ago. At $1.49 for a couple of pounds,  it was fun a lot cheaper than, say, if baby wanted a new pair of Manolos.

My bulgur sat around the panty, as I figured out what to do with it. I did a little research and discovered that cracked wheat, aka  bulgur is the main ingredient of two of my favorite dishes. Those would be  taboulleh and kibbeh. I guess I kinda knew that, but I’d never really put it together before. I guess that’s because I’ve never made either dish.

Then it hit me what to cook up. Bulgur Burgers. After experimenting, bulgur is my favorite DIY meat substitute. It’s tasty and inexpensive. Not to mention that it’s low in calories and high high in fiber  and magnesium.

So it’s bling without the kaching.

I’m still experimenting with the recipe, but so far I’ve added nuts, onions and hot sauce. I’ve used eggs as a binder and I’ve gone eggless. So far everything has been tasty.

What’s on your plate? Is it bringing you inner bling?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

