Skip to content

Five Ways to Save Money on Your Thanksgiving Dinner

November 23, 2010

★     Buy what’s on special. You may have family traditions that mandate certain items. Improvise for the rest of your meal. Get fresh green beans, you don’t have to use the canned version for your family’s favorite casserole. It just makes cents, maybe even some dollars.

★     Go to ethnic markets. Even if you don’t like ethnic foods, you may be surprised by all the bargains you will find by going ethnic. I’ve seen veggies at rock-bottom prices at Japanese markets. I get pita at half, half price I tell you, at my favorite Lebanese market.

★     Visit your favorite farmers market, especially at the end of the day. You’ll be buying local and you’ll have the most beautiful bounty  or the most bountiful beauty to present to your family.

★     Get your coupon on. Raid the Sunday paper. Go on line. Pay close attention to what you find in you favorite magazine. I have no shame in my game in using coupons.

★     Try the nearest restaurant supply store. At most regular grocery stores, cheese is about five bucks a pound. I get it at my favorite restaurant supply store for three. And those are the everyday prices.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 9:20 pm

    Great tip on shopping at ethnic markets. I purchase humanely-raised meats from Nijiya, a Japanese market in San Diego, and throw in farmers market veggies for stir fry. Delicious! One of our local Lebanese markets carries five types of Lebni and another carries Sumac, a mouthwatering spice that pairs great with it.

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      November 23, 2010 9:53 pm

      I just had a a wonderful lunch—that featured sumac. And what did I use as a kind of mayo, lebni of course. I was introduced to it at the Lebanese market and have been addicted ever since.

      I enjoy your blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Five Ways to Save Money on Your Thanksgiving Dinner « Lenanozizwe's Starring in Your Own Life Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

