Skip to content

RIP to the den mother of Elaine’s

December 3, 2010

The  New York Times describes Elaine Kaufman as being the den mother for NY’s literary set.

Writer and reader that I am, I had to go to Elaine’s the first time I went to the NYC. I was on assignment and treated myself to lunch at the Upper East Side establishment. I didn’t see regulars Woody Allen,  Clay Felker or Gay Talese. Ditto when it comes to Mick Jagger, Willie Nelson or Michael Caine. My visit was memorable even so.

I don’t remember what I ate, because I didn’t have a digital camera then to record it,  but I do remember meeting her. When I told Elaine I was from San Diego she quickly told me about others visitors from America’s Finest.  It was like she had a Rolodex implanted in her brain.

Some people say she was rude. She was very kind to this visitor and I even got her to pose for a photo with me.

I better find and post.

She died today in New York City.

RIP

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

