Skip to content

Star Tips: My Top Five Food Adventures of 2010

December 30, 2010

I’ve always said that action-adventure is the genre of mon vie.  In my book it’s been just adventurous to be stopped in the middle of a jungle by a loaded policeman with an equally loaded gun as it was to make quinoa pasta for the first time. I survived both adventures and lived to tell.

My top five food adventures of 2010 are:

1. Starting my first edible garden. How do I adequately describe the joy of eating a tomato grown from another tomato that once filled my plate? I don’t think I can. However the photo of my first tomato will give you a clue. It’s also been a culinary kick to clip fresh mint, chives, parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme of course, as needed.

Duty kept me away from my beloved plants the later part of the year. I’ve already started a rewarding reprise which will include planting anew.

2. Discovering bento. It’s beautiful, healthful, colorful, artful living in a box.. Why can’t portion control be pretty? I just got a new bento that’s about to be blinged. Until then, here’s another look at my very first obento, complete with carrot shoulder pads.

3. Making my own specialty flours. I thought there was more to it. Basically, all you have to do to make flour is get out your blender.

This year I made rice, quinoa, oatmeal, rice and garbanzo bean flour. My quinoa flour made it into everything cheesecake crusts and the aforementioned pasta.

4. Speaking of pasta, making my own from scratch was also buzz-worthy. I can get better at it, but my first time at the rodeo turned out good enough to eat.

5. Discovering new ethnic markets. They are a pathway to adventure and to savings. Visits to a Lebanese restaurant supply store led to a host of new food discoveries from kefir cheese, which I have a mad jones for–to dried garbanzo beans, which are somehow more glamorous than the pinto variety. They led to my first ever homemade falafel and hummus this year.

The prices for so many of the items that I find at ethnic markets are beyond reasonable.

As we speak there are Vietnamese rice wrappers, purchased in Little Tokyo, waiting for me to explore. Ahhhhh, 2011.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kourtnie permalink
    January 15, 2011 6:41 pm

    sign me up

Leave a Reply

