Skip to content

A Workout with Jillian Michaels, a treat at the Magnolia Bakery, and a Happy New Year!

January 4, 2011

Jillian, Jiggly Bits and a Free Workout

I have two words for Jillian Michaels.  Hint: They are not harsh and tough.

The “Biggest Loser” star trainer led a group of New Year’s  resolute  resoultioners this  morning, including me.

I thought it was a great way to start the New Year. A star trainer. A free session. Bling without kaching.

What I miss the most about gym membership is the opportunity to take group classes. So when I heard that I could  get jiggy with Jillian while eliminating my jiggly bits, it was on.

The session was in connection with a segment she was doing for the infotainment show, “Extra.”

Because of stormy weather, the workout was staged on the second level of the parking lot of The Grove, a shopping center in Los Angeles.

Warming up to the crowd

Jillian’s pre-warm up activities warmed up activities also warmed hearts.

She greeted everyone who came for the session with a handshake and a smile as bright as the blue leggings she was wearing.

This month’s cover girl for “Self” magazine was with her people.  They clapped and cheered at every twist and burn.

The actual workout was a mash up squatting, planking and downward dogging.

One woman, who was grunting and gesticulating in front of me, was dripping with perspiration in spite of temperatures in the 50s.

According to the advance promotion, they said there would be cake, or at least some fitness gear treats. When nothing appeared after the workout, a producer told me that the gifting would come during the actual taping of “Extra.”

I had dreams of getting a DVD or even a kettlebell.  I got bupkus.

Diet Detour

What happened next is going to sound as if I have already fallen off the New Year’s resolution bandwagon. That’s because I headed to the Magnolia Bakery.  The bakery, a New York native, recently opened shop in Los Angeles and I’ve wanted to try it. The work out session was a fun adventure. Ditto my trip to Magnolia.

I ended up getting an oatmeal cookie for 75 cents and a Magic Cookie Bar for $2.50. I was tempted by the Red Velvet Cheesecake, but the $4 stopped me.  But then I was horrified by the $3 price for cupcakes at Sprinkles and now they go for $3.25.

The cookie was of the soft oatmeal variety. That’s a good thing because when a cookie is crispy that generally means a lot of fat. It was delicious.

Ditto the Magic Cookie Bar. It was worth every calorie.

I’m not sure Jillian would approve, although she promotes a common sense sensibility of “calories in and calories out.” So it just means that those calories in meant nothing much on my plate for the rest of the day.

Oh, the two words I have for Jillian are gracious and charming.

What’s on your plate? Is it making you shine?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

