Skip to content

Lara Logan: Let Her Heal

February 16, 2011

Revulsion was my first response to hearing about the attacks on CBS correspondent Lara Logan.

The second wave came when I heard about the further brutalization of her by everyone from colleagues to commenters.

The horrific attack has prompted:

  • misogynistic ramblings about why women should not cover war zones
  • comments that condemn all men from the Middle East
  • inappropriate references to Lara’s looks
  • references faulting the left and the right

Chill. Stop for a moment and consider:

  • She was just doing her job, admittedly a dangerous one. I’m not going to question her career choice of being a war correspondent. While I have never been close to a war zone, I’ve reported in dangerous situations myself. The most memorable moment was being deep in a jungle when my photographer and I were stopped by a drunk policeman with an automatic weapon.  According to the haters, if something happened it would have been my fault.
  • Don’t forget that , for example, Wael Ghonim is from Egypt. He has fans from around the world who have praised the Google executive for what he has done for his homeland. And lest we forget, Egyptian women and police officers rescued Lara.
  • Lara is pretty. So. That does not warrant the hater remarks that suggest it’s her fault that the mob attacked her. I won’t provide links to the stories of the writers of this rubbish. Tragically, some of it has been written by other women. I have seen misogyny, up close and personal, in journalism. Why add to it?
  • Commentators are blaming the right and the left for aspects of this story. First, let’s blame that mob that attacked a defenseless woman who was just doing her job.

Some of the reaction has been so upsetting that I felt compelled to send and e-mail to Nir Rosen, a veteran journalist who tweeted some very unkind comments including saying that Lara was trying to “outdo Anderson Cooper.”

Last night, I sent him an e-mail, not woman to man, but human to human. I said:


I’m not going to use profanity. I’m not going to attack you.
However, I do think your tweets were cruel to target someone still in the hospital, whether you believe this person was seriously injured or not.
If anything, you should be emphatic. Men can also be sexually attacked and beaten.
What happened in Egypt was ugly, any way you slice it.
Why make it uglier?
That’s all
When I woke up this morning, I actually got this response from Nir Rosen:
you are correct, i was joking around inappropriately and i apologize

What more can he do?

Besides, at this point I’d rather spend time praying for Lara than demonizing Rosen.

The “New York Post” reports that Lara did not want to report the attack in Egypt because she feared that she would be further victimized.

I’m wondering if she expected the same thing to happen if she revealed what happened, once she got back home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela La Gioia permalink
    February 16, 2011 8:05 pm

    Keep the fire burning, Lena. The heat, that is, not the flames.
    My heart goes out to Lara. And to any reporter that is attacked or killed for braving a violent climate to bring the rest of the world closer to us.

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      February 16, 2011 8:12 pm

      Thank you. My heart goes out to her as well.

  2. March 2, 2011 3:07 pm

    Thank you for writing a reasonable, sensitive response. Refreshing among what, as you’ve noted, has characterized so many of the responses (from “real” journalists as well as bloggers) to her attack. Let’s keep the focus on “giving” her our virtual strength, solidarity and support. If you want to see how I addressed the issue from a different angle, you can click on my name to get to my blog.

    • lenanozizwe permalink*
      March 2, 2011 3:51 pm

      Thank you for your kind comments. Your blog post, that touched on this topic, was thought-provoking. I, too, did not appreciate the virtual mob scene. I have been thinking a lot about second chances recently. You have made me think about it even more.

Leave a Reply

