Skip to content

Tomato Curry Brings Bling to Veggies

July 10, 2011

Tomato Curry- Starring in Your Own Life copyright Lena Nozizwe 2011

My quest to bring more glamour to my veggies this month continues with this Tomato Curry Sauce served on brown rice. This dish is based on an Malawian recipe from my Mom.

For this version, I doubled the amount of tomatoes that I usually use. The tomatoes were on sale for 50 cents a pound and they happened to be Roma. The recipe always includes onions, but  this time I added cabbage. Even so, the taste profile remained unchanged because I used a proportion of 1/4 cup cabbage to a cup of onion.

Oh, and did I say that it’s delicious?

So just how does this remix bring more bling to my plate?

  • Tomatoes are low calorie and high in fiber, magnesium, niacin, vitamin A, Vitamin B6, vitamin C, phosphorus, thiamin for starters.
  • Cabbage is  also low calorie and  very high in fiber, along with being high in iron manganese, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, thiamin, vitamin B6 amd vitamin C.
  • Onions  have loads of  fiber,  maganese, potassium, vitamin B6 and vitamin C.
  • For color and health benefits, I added tumeric.  It’s known as the poor man’s saffron. You could also label it the unsung hero of spices. Researchers say it helps fight everything from Alzheimer’s to cancer. It’s so good for you that I add it to just about everything, not just curries. One example is that I always add a couple of shakes when I saute onions.The only caution I would have is not to add too much because by itself, it really does not taste that great.
How to bring the bling to your plate
  • Make grated cabbage part of your mirepoix. If you use the proportion of 1/4 cabbage to 1 cup mirepoix, you won’t be able to taste the difference.
  • Experiment and double the amount of vegetables in your favorite savory dish. Extra carrots in your soup tonight will only make it better.
  • Accessorize. For my African dish, I used a heart mold that I got at a Japanese store in San Diego. It instantly made my brown rice look more glam. I’m on the road to embracing brown rice, because I know how good it is for me. The mold made it fun and it didn’t cost me a calorie.
What’s on your plate? Is it making you shine?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

