Skip to content

There Will Be Beets

August 1, 2011

For my tastes, beets are a rock stars of veggies.

They look good.

They taste good.

They are good for you.

A trifecta of bling for your plate.

As much as I love them, I’ve always consumed the canned variety.

That is until I devoted this month to making the veggies in my life more glam.

While beets have never needed much of a make over, what I did for the first time was roast the beets.

Why did I wait so long?

It’s really quite easy.

  • Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees
  • Wash your beets and trim the greens
  • Wrap them in aluminum foil
  • Roast for 45 minutes to an hour
  • Cool
  • Slip off the outer peel. This part may get a bit messy so don’t wear white.
They are delicious and amazingly sweet as is. It’s no wonder that commercial sugar is made from a variety of beet.
Of course I had to try to bling them up. I can’t help myself. I love to make tarts, mostly of the dessert variety. I didn’t want to make anything eggy this time round, because beets are so good as is. So I simply layered the beets on top of mascopone, mixed with some chives from my home garden. A whole wheat pie crust served as the base.
I was worried that the beet juice would ruin the  mascapone.
It just made it more lovely. What’s on your plate? Is it making you shine?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

