Skip to content

The Alexander McQueen Starring in Your Own Life Lesson: Hold on Another Day

August 4, 2011
The exhibit, Alexander McQueen:Savage Beauty closes this week at the Metropolitan Museum in New York City.
A record number of crowds have been drawn to the show. So much so that the museum will open late  this week to accommodate the demand.
Sadly, I won’t get to go.
Tragically, Alexander himself will be a no show.
The gifted English designer killed himself last year, just a week after the death of his mother, Joyce.
I think of him as less fashion icon and more  as a really lovely spirit who I got to meet during a trip to Paris.
At the time, he worked for Givenchy and I was so excited about meeting him at his atelier that I wanted to take a photo with him.
The person who was responsible for getting the audience with him, nixed that idea.
However, I will forever remember him as being quite down to earth and charming.
As I left Givenchy, located on Ave George V, I spied his car and driver. Such a life, I thought to myself.
A month later I returned to Paris, thanks to frequent flier miles, so I could take my mother and one of my brothers to one of his collections. There were movie stars and magazine editors everywhere, but Alexander was the star. My family and I even got to go backstage for an after party.
We returned to our hotel via the Metro.  Such a life. I thought to myself.
With excursions to the Louvre food court and marches down the Place de la Concorde, the whole trip is one of my favorite family memories ever. Oh, did I mention the tarte tartin?
Over the years I watched as Alexander’s star continued to ascend. He went on to the Gucci Group. His own fashion house became ragingly successful. I even watched as an Alexander McQueen store was built on Melrose Avenue in Los Angeles.
He has continued to conquer the fashion world, from his grave,
His fashion house produced, arguably, the world’s most famous wedding dress for Kate “Duchess of Cambridge” Middleton.
And now thousands flock to see the savage beauty he created.
Every time I see the hoopla, I can’t help but thinking how I wish he were here to enjoy it.
That feeling also serves as a good reminder to me, on those times when I’m struggling to slog my way through another day, you never really know how good tomorrow can be unless you stay around to enjoy it.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

