Skip to content

We Can Work it Out: Day #4 Tracy Anderson Method Mat Workout

October 5, 2011

Apparently Emma Stone is not a fan of Tracy Anderson. Emma, I too didn’t want to believe the hype. Just because Madonna and Gwennie think Tracy is all that and a non-fat bag of chip, or at least Madonna did at one time, doesn’t mean that I have to drink the sugar-free Kool-Aid. But it turns out that I really like this work out. A lot. It’s unlike any other:

  • mat
  • bar
  • barre
  • Pilates
workout that I’ve tried to date, although there are similarities. And I’ve tried quite a few.
There is a lot of repetition. But there is something else she does. While most workouts are straightforward, her’s are. well, cubist. You work out muscles you didn’t know existed.

Title: Tracy Anderson Method Mat Workout

Host: Tracy Anderson

Time: About 60 minutes

Star Endorsements: Madonna, Nicole Richie, Kelly Ripa, Shakira, Molly Sims, Kate Hudson, Courtney Cox, and Jennifer Aniston.

Music: Better than the average bear.

Cuing: While there are plenty of guidelines on how to perform the workout, I would have loved countdowns. If I know there will only be three more reps, I am so in. going.

Production Values: Good. The camera is in focus and where it should be. It would have been lovely to have other workout partners to show variations of the moves.

Level: Throughout the workout she suggests modifications for beginners and for more rigorous workouts.

Equipment: A chair, light weights and a mat.

Video Vibe: Nothing extraordinary.

What It’s Like?: It’s While I don’t consider myself advanced when it comes to working out, I found this workout to be very, very challenging and filled with moves I have never seen before. .

Rating: Four and a half legwarmers out of five

Notes: I wish that there were chapters to split up the workout. I skipped through the part where Gwyneth Paltrow and Tracy talk. The one thing that I did hear Tracy say was that the workout would make you tiny. She’s tiny. I’m 5’10” with a badonkadonk and I’m not mad at me.

I don’t want to be tiny. I want to be strong.  I want to be fit.  So I’ll continue to skip through that part.

.
Leave a Reply

