Skip to content

We Can Work it Out: Day #10 Cycle Challenge

October 11, 2011

I vividly remember the first time I ever took a spin class. That’s because I could barely walk the next day.

A few years later, I brought one of my very fit brothers along for the ride. He could barely walk that same day.

Jazzercise came and went. My Norma Kamali workout gear came and went.  My legwarmers came and went. Spin has been in my life for more than 15 years.

When you do spin right, it’s exhilarating.

I like the feeling of exhilaration and I like how spinning does a number on your lower body. This workout will not necessarily make you thinner–it actually builds out your bodonk and legs, but that’s not what I’m in in for. I love the muscles and sweat

.

Title: Cycle Challenge

Host: Mindy Mylrea

Time: About an hour

Celebrity Fans: Over the years I’ve spotted many a sitcoms star in my spin classes , although I can not get a beat on Mindy’s celeb fans.

Equipment:  A spin bike

Cuing: Just fine

Production Values: It’s shot in the great outdoors. Nothing fancy.It has the look of a VHS era production.

Level: She has a male sidekick, but he appears to workout at the same level she does.

Video Vibe: She knows her stuff, no doubt. She does a great job in teaching about form.The video is solid, but there is no spark. I don’t wake up thinking, boy, I can hardly wait to get on my bike. I want that exhilaration please.

What It’s Like?: A bit light on inspiration, but heavy on instruction, in a good way.

Rating: Two legwarmers out of five

Notes: I admit that I bought Mindy’s DVD because of the price point. Please somebody, I’m all ears for an amped up spin DVD that won’t cost me an arm and a leg. I need that leg in order to spin.

.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

