Skip to content

Try Something New Thursday

March 7, 2013
Aubergine has never had it so good.

Aubergine has never had it so good.

I don’t know it all, although my brothers might say that I think otherwise.

Truth be told, I love to learn. Guess that’s a by-product of being the progeny of educators.

There were always books around the house. When those ran out, it was off to the library.

Now it’s a matter of taking an on ramp to the information highway.

My learning is not arm chair. Every week I learn and do something new. In recent weeks that has included learning how to make sourdough bread.

And just this week, I thought to myself, why can’t I make a meatball from eggplant?  Score. And I also picked up some new beauty tips this week that will profoundly change how I put myself together.

So why don’t you vow to try something new this week. And why would you want to do that?

  • It builds confidence. Do one thing well, it will propel you to try something else. My success with making sourdough was the gateway for me to make the best 100% whole wheat bread of my life.
  • It relieves boredom. Do you really want to do the same thing over and over and over again without trying something new? Technology changes. Ditto your abilities and your determination.
  • It provides you with a new interest. There are whole groups devoted to wild yeast, the kind you capture when you make sourdough. I would never have been aware of that subculture, had it not been for my new food fancy.
  • You may find that the old way you have been doing things is better than the new. That’s another way to build your confidence.
  • If you are cooking something, it will give your something very tasty for dinner.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

